Happy New Year!

Happy 2021 to everyone. I think we all deserve a medal for getting through the last year, don’t you agree?

So I am starting this year off gently, with small plans and hopes for all my readers to have a year filled with good mental and physical health. I’ll begin here with a quick recap of just a few of the things last year brought for me and my family:

My secret New Year’s resolution last year was to walk at least 10,000 steps every day for the entire year, as well as doing a few exercises from my physio (squats, clamshells, and some arm/shoulder exercises). I was successful for every day except for four days in July (10th-13th), when I was really ill and was in bed. I had a trip to the hospital during that time and was tested and happily found to be Covid free. This year I will be continuing this resolution and perhaps I will try and add a few things to mix it up a bit. I may post at another time with some more details about all of that, if anyone has interest in it.

As part of those daily 10,000 steps, Emmy and I went on many adventures in 2020 and posted a few of them on my blog “A Therapist and Her Dog“. We will continue our adventures this year. We will continue our adventures this year. Here are some pictures of our first walk this morning, January 1,2021:

Beautiful morning January 1, 2021
We walked about 1.8km along the rail trail to get to a local off-leash parkland, where Emmy met with a few other dogs and played hide and seek with the many mallard ducks and crows, circling around for another km or so…
After the park we took a different route home, another km or so along the Galloping Goose Trail and then cutting through an urban park, where Emmy could get in a glamour walk through a seasonal archway.

My other focus last year was food, and I posted quite a few of my plant-based experiments on this blog, to continue my 2020 resolutions to eat for the health of myself and the planet. In 2021 I will continue my food adventures here, with some crossover commentary talking about things like mental health and food (topics I am learning about and find fascinating- such as the connections between kids’ mental health and food, and between gut biome and mental health in general). Of course I will also be blogging recipes and meal plans here as well.

As a teaser, here are a few pics of my Christmas plant-based stuffed seitan turkeys. I was planning to have both of my kids and families come for Christmas but our public health orders made that impossible, so instead I made “take-away” turkey dinners for each household. We had Zoom get-togethers over the holidays with both nuclear family and extended family- watching Christmas specials, opening stockings and presents, and eating dinner “separately together”. It was very different but it worked!

The stuffed seitan turkey. I made one for each family and packed them in these take-away roasting pans, surrounded by the veg and ready for a quick final roasting on Christmas day. Somehow in the assembly line I forgot to get the pictures of the finished dinner packed ready to go. 😦
But… here are some of the veggies that were packed around the turkey, and then there were also containers of stuffing and vegetarian gravy packed alongside.
For a VERY full plate of vegan turkey dinner on Christmas day, and plenty of leftovers for sandwiches or soup in the days following.

So, even though it was an odd end to an odd year, I have high hopes for next year across both of my blogs. More recipes and tips, more health and mental health information, more nature, animal and mental health posts.

I was also spoiled by my children, siblings, and friends over Christmas and I will be learning lots more and using some of my gifts to expand what I do on my blogs:

I got a vlogging kit from my daughter so I’m hoping to incorporate some vlogs into the offerings. I am still doing my Zoom cooking club with my family and we got a subscription of a cooking magazine from one of my sisters to expand our horizons there (a natural place to start with the vlogs?)

And from my son I got a hydroponic gardening kit, so I can learn and incorporate some more fresh ingredients into the recipes. Those are just a few of the things I plan this year.

Emmy was made a star this Christmas too, as my daughter commissioned a beautiful portrait of her for me. It is the feature portrait for this blog post.

So, what are some things you’d like to see more of from me?
– Perhaps some product, article, or book reviews?
– More actual programs for health, like last year’s 52 Small Steps program?
– Templates or planners for what you are working on?
– A focus on more specific topics?

I’d truly love some suggestions from you!

Until next time, keep safe and keep healthy. Love from Jo in this most unusual season:

Newly laundered masks drying near the bins of decorations- preparing for Christmas 2020

Leave a comment