Bittersweet Morning

I went on my first walk/jog of 2013 this morning, which turned out to be a perfect transition between 2012 and 2013. I set off in the brooding morning mist, and I felt keenly the start of a year without my constant canine companions keeping me company on my walk. I took a different route to break the feeling of something “missing”.

100_4207100_4199100_4204

As I went along the river path I must have met all the dogs in Duncan, out for walks with their owners. It was sad, and I have to admit that a few teardrops snuck out as one extremely happy Sheltie spotted me as a likely playmate and brought me his ball to throw. As I got to the end of the riverside park, I said a final goodbye to the gangs of dogs, and to my own little dog, Patch, feeling that I was leaving her in 2012 and moving on to 2013.

100_4228100_4232100_4258

I continued through town to the official dog park (empty of course- all the dogs were busy at the river), and to the outside gym and walking track/sportsplex. Here I began meeting the regular exercisers and the sun started peeking out.

100_4236100_4238100_4244

A nice little side trail opened my eyes to the beauty of the day and my melancholy mood was lifting. As I turned and headed for home, I decided to take a detour to drop in on my son and wish him a Happy New Year, and by the time I got back to the Cowichan River near my home, I was thinking of all the adventures ahead in 2013.

I have my first vegan cooking club meeting for 2013 next Sunday and our plan is to each try a recipe with an ingredient we have never tried before (and yes, I do count food as an adventure- I love my food!). The week after that is the start of the Island Race series with an 8K in Saanichton, BC. My daughter and I are planning to enter. I am looking forward to updating my $2013 in 2013 Challenge, as well as cheering on the challenges of a couple of other bloggers I have begun to follow across the seas (sometimes I love technology!). Marc Hemmingway, from Great Britain is the original 2013 in 2013’er, and Baz- The Landy over in Australia lets me join him vicariously on his mountain climbing and outdoors adventures. They both help to keep me inspired.

So, that was my morning walk/trot, and that is also my first update for “$2013 in 2013”. I traipsed a grand total of 7.6 Km (according to Google pedometer), which gives me a nice easy start for the year. As I said at the beginning of the post, it was also a nice transition from the pull of the past and looking forward to the pull of possible future adventure. It made me think of a poem by Robert Francis:

Poised between going on and back, pulled
Both ways taut like a tight-rope walker,
Fingertips pointing the opposites,
Now bouncing tiptoe like a dropped ball,
Or a kid skipping rope, come on, come on!
Running a scattering of steps sidewise,
How he teeters, skitters, tingles, teases,
Taunts them, hovers like an ecstatic bird,
He’s only flirting, crowd him, crowd him,
Delicate, delicate, delicate, delicate – Now!

The poem is called The Base Stealer, but the first time I read it I was not given the title, and I will therefore always visualize a drop of water running down a slightly drooping vine and hanging there in the moment before it falls to the ground- the tiny suspended moment between past and future, when time stands still for an instant, allowing a quick final gift of reflection before moving on to the exciting unknown.

photo by emrank

Leave a Reply

