New Year’s Resolutions: $2013 in 2013 Update

Update- My donation page is here (full explanation below). If it doesn’t work for you to use a direct link, you can also copy this: http://www.canadahelps.org/gp/21903 and paste it into your address bar.

With 2012 nearly over, I have been thinking about how to make 2013 even better. As a result, I’ve resolved to push my limits a bit and I am challenging myself (and anyone else who wants to join in- any takers?) to exercise, run, walk, swim or bike the equivalent of 2013 kilometres in 2013, and in the process I want to earn $2013.00 for charity (credit and thanks to Marc Hemmingway for the original idea). 2013 kilometres is a tad more than 5.5 km. per day throughout the year, which could be quite do-able if I only wanted to focus on distance-type sports like running or walking. However, with careful scheduling, I can still only fit in about an hour a day for exercise and I want to try other challenges, too. So I have calculated how to use other exercise in my resolution. I will count every 10 minutes of hard exercise as 1 km. (for example, if I do a 50 minute “cardio/core” circuit class, I will count that as 5 km). I usually average one km. in about 8.5 minutes when I walk/run races, so I think that is a reasonable equivalent.

I lost my last dog this fall, and the love and happiness all of my animals provided over the years meant that the choice of an animal charity was inevitable. There are many I could have gone with, but I’m really pleased with my final choice- West Coast Assistance Teams, because they work with dogs to help people with disabilities, and also work with at-risk youth, teaching them how to get involved in training assistance dogs. These are both projects that are near and dear to my heart, and they are the type of programs I researched and wrote about in my Master’s thesis.

Presently I am asking for any kind of donation at all directed through the CanadaHelps page (links in bold at top of page), and they will also give tax receipts to those who are eligible. They do take a fee out of the donation (3.9% to 4.9%) but they also take care of lots of the legwork for the charities (giving out the tax receipts, etc), and they also offer things like ecards and donor gift cards if you’d like to send a donation in someone’s name. Check out this FAQ page to see what else you can do about your donation and what they can do for you.

I visualized that perhaps people might want to pledge a small amount of money for each kilometre that I log. At only 1 cent per kilometre, people would only have to donate $20.13, and one hundred people would get me to my goal. I will also try and sort out other ideas over the year to get money into the pot, perhaps by taking on challenges and events to get sponsorship in other ways. I will keep you updated, and it would be great to hear from readers- all creative ideas wil be considered.

I have set up a new category on the right sidebar of my page, labelled “$2103 in 2013”, and I will keep this post there along with a running total of how many kilometres (or equivalent) I have achieved, and how many funds have been raised so far. You can also check back any time to the CanadaHelps page where they have a thermometer thingy with the amount raised.

Feel free to comment or ask questions. I’m very excited to have this new adventure starting just one day from now!

Memories of an Old Partner

Memories of an Old Partner- Barkley (2006)

4 thoughts on “New Year’s Resolutions: $2013 in 2013 Update

  1. Pingback: Getting Back on Track- New Year’s Resolutions | Fork In The Road

  2. Pingback: Bittersweet Morning | Fork In The Road

  3. Pingback: Getting Back on Track- New Year’s Resolutions: $2013 in 2013 | Animal Therapy

  4. Pingback: Bittersweet Morning | Animal Therapy

Leave a Reply

